Chicago Bears could sweep Rookie of the Year awards

(Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)
(Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images) /
1 of 3
Chicago Bears Roquan Smith
(Photo by Scott Cunningham/Getty Images) /

The Chicago Bears have a realistic shot of sweeping this year’s Rookie of the Year awards.

In 2000, the Chicago Bears took home the Defensive Rookie of the Year Award when the award was given to future Hall of Fame linebacker Brian Urlacher. The following year, the Offensive Rookie of the Year Award was given to Bear’s running back Anthony Thomas.

However, the Bears have never taken home both awards in the same year, as Thomas represents their only Offensive ROY winner. In fact, the same team has taken home both honors only once, and it was the very first year the awards were handed out. In 1967, Mel Farr and Lem Barney won Offensive ROY and Defensive ROY for the Detroit Lions. Frankly, both of those names sound made up so I can’t be certain the above is true.

The Bears have a realistic chance of finishing the season by having two of their rookies take home the hardware. Both Anthony Miller and Roquan Smith have a legitimate shot at winning the Offensive and Defensive ROY awards respectively.

While Smith has better odds to win than Miller does remember that Kareem Hunt was not one of the favorites to win the award last year. Players — especially on the offensive side of the ball which is harder to project — can come out of nowhere to win. And Miller will have every opportunity to take home the hardware. We take a look at why the Bears, at the end of the season, could have two incredible building blocks for the future.