Sep 24, 2013; Cleveland, OH, USA; Cleveland Indians designated hitter Jason Giambi (center) celebrates his game-winning two-run home run in the ninth inning against the Chicago White Sox at Progressive Field. Cleveland won 5-4. Mandatory Credit: David Richard-USA TODAY Sports

Chicago White Sox Fall 5-4 on Jason Giambi Walk-Off

The White Sox fell to their 13th consecutive loss to the Indians on Tuesday night at Progressive Field.

With a 5-4 loss to the Indians, the Sox’s 13 game skid reached a club record for consecutive losses against a single team.

Dayan Viciedo and Alejandro De Aza hit home runs in the ninth inning off Indians closer Chris Perez but it was not enough as Indians’ Jason Giambi hit a pinch-hit, two-run walk-off home run off Sox closer Addison Reed to give the Indians a victory.

Michael Brantley hit an RBI single off Sox starter Hector Santiago (4-9, 3.56 ERA) in the second for a 1-0 Indians lead.

Conor Gillaspie scored on Avisail Garcia‘s sacrifice fly in the fourth to make it 1-1.

Sox center fielder Alejandro De Aza added a RBI single in the seventh off Indians starter Ubaldo Jimenez (12-9, 3.39 ERA) to push the Sox ahead 2-1.

Brantley hit a solo homer to right field on the first pitch in the bottom of the inning, and Jason Kipnis added an RBI single off reliever Nate Jones to put the Indians up 3-2.

The Sox have five games remaining in their 2013 season and must win at least on to avoid 100 losses.

Santiago allowed six hits and three earned runs, struck out one and walked two in 6 1/3 innings.

Jimenez also went 6 1/3 innings, gave up five hits and two earned runs, struck out seven and walked three.

Sox right-hander Dylan Axelrod (4-10, 5.72 ERA) and Indians right-hander Danny Salazar (1-3, 3.09 ERA) are the starters for Wednesday night’s game in Cleveland at 6:05 p.m. CT (CSN/WSCR 670).

For more Chicago sports conversation and updates follow us on Twitter @DaWindyCityFS and Like our Facebook page at Da Windy City.

Tags: Alejandro De Aza Chicago White Sox Dayan Viciedo Hector Santiago Mlb

comments powered by Disqus