Chicago Blackhawks players receive invites to Olympic camps

The National Hockey League and the International Hockey Federation reached an agreement for NHL players to participate in the 2014 Olympics in Sochi, Russia on Friday and starting Monday the national teams began releasing their orientation camp rosters, and 12 Chicago Blackhawks from four countries have been invited to attend.

Forwards Jonathan Toews and Patrick Sharp, defensemen Duncan Keith and Brent Seabrook and goaltender Corey Crawford – were among 47 players invited to Team Canada’s camp. Crawford is the lone Hawk that has not participated in international competition while Toews, Keith, and Seabrook took home gold in the 2010 Vancouver Olympic games. Sharp participated in the orientation camp in 2009 but was not selected for the Olympic roster. The Hawks led the league with the most players invited to the camp, which is scheduled for Aug. 25-28 in Calgary, Alberta.

Forwards Patrick Kane and Brandon Saad and defenseman Nick Leddy – were among 48 players invited to Team USA’s camp. Kane registered three goals and two assists in six games during the 2010 Olympic tournament, Saad and Leddy are first-time invitees to the camp, which will be held Aug. 26-27 in Arlington, Va.

The Hawks newly acquired goaltender, Antti Raanta was invited to Team Finald’s camp, and Marcus Kruger, Johnny Oduya, and Niklas Hjalmarsson were invited to Team Sweden’s camp. Oduya skated for the Swedes in 2010 while Kruger received a bronze medal in World Junior Hockey Championships in 2010.

Slovakia and the Czech Republic have not released their invites but Marian Hossa and Michal Handzus are likely to join Team Slovakia while Michal Rozsival has been mentioned as a possibility for the Czech Republic.

For more Chicago sports conversation and updates follow us on Twitter @DaWindyCityFS and Like our Facebook page at Da Windy City.

Tags: 2014 Olympics Antti Raanta Brandon Saad Brent Seabrook Chicago Blackhawks Duncan Keith Johnathan Toews Johnny Oduya Marcus Kruger Marian Hossa Michal Handzus Michal Rozsival NHL Nick Leddy Niklas Hjalmarsson Patrick Kane Patrick Sharp Team Canada Team Czech Republic Team Finald Team Slovaki Team Sweden Team USA

comments powered by Disqus