Oct 13, 2012; Minneapolis, MN, USA: Northwestern Wildcats running back Venric Mark (5) runs for a 26 yard touchdown in the first quarter against the Minnesota Golden Gophers at TCF Bank Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jesse Johnson-USA TODAY Sports

Northwestern Football: Venric Mark Up for Walter Camp Award in 2013

Northwestern senior Venric Mark has been named to his third preseason award watch list. The Walter Camp Foundation announced Friday Mark was among 50 players named to the Walter Camp Award preseason list for the 2013 Player of the Year award.

Mark has also been named to the 2013 Maxwell Award (nation’s beset football player) and Doak Walker Award (nation’s top running back) watch lists the past two weeks.

During his junior season Mark was a second-team All-Big Ten selection at running back for recording 1,366 yards rushing and 12 touchdowns. He was also named a finalist for the Doak Walker Award and the 2012 season Northwestern Offensive MVP.

Mark also served as the Northwestern punt return specialist, averaging 18.7 yards per punt and two touchdown returns for which he was named first-team All-American as a punt returner by the Football Writers Association of America. His all-purpose yard total (2,137) was short by 29 yards of setting the school record in a season, he did rank No. 1 in the Big Ten with 166.6 all-purpose yards per game.

The 10 semifinalists for the Camp Award will be announced in mid-November by the Walter Camp Football Foundation. The Camp award is voted on by the 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors and the recipient will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Dec. 12. The 2013 Camp award winner will be awarded the trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on Jan. 11 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

The Walter Camp Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The members of the NCFAA unveiled their preseason watch lists over a 12-period in the month of July:

Mon., July 8: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tue., July 9: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
Wed., July 10: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
Thu., July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
Fri., July 12: Jim Thorpe Award
Mon., July 15: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award
Tue., July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Wed., July 17: Davey O’Brien Award
Thu., July 18: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 19: Walter Camp Award

For more Chicago sports conversation and updates follow us on Twitter @DaWindyCityFS and Like our Facebook page at Da Windy City.

Tags: Big Ten NCAA Northwestern Northwestern Football Venric Mark Walter Camp Award

comments powered by Disqus