Jan 1, 2013; Jacksonville FL, USA; Mississippi State Bulldogs running back LaDarius Perkins (27) is stopped by Northwestern Wildcats defensive lineman Tyler Scott (97) and safety Jared Carpenter (27) in the first quarter of their Gator Bowl game at EverBank Field. Mandatory Credit: Phil Sears-USA TODAY Sports

Northwestern's Tyler Scott, Brandon Vitabile named to Lombardi watch list

Northwestern senior Tyler Scott and junior Brandon Vitabile on Monday were named to the Vince Lombardi Award watch list. The Lombardi Award is presented annually to the nation’s best linemen or linebacker by the Rotary Club of Houston.

The Lombardi Award, named after legendary football coach Vince Lombardi, began in 1970. Lombardi played college football at Fordham University from 1933 to 1936, where he was a right guard in the Seven Blocks of Granite. He began his coaching career at his alma mater and ten joined Earl Blaik at West Point before leaving for the NFL.

Scott, already on the Outland and Nagurski watch list as one of the top down linemen in the nation and best defensive player of the player, respectively. In his junior season, Scott started in all 13 games for the Wildcats last season at defensive end and recorded nine sacks (0.69 per game), ranking him second in the Big Ten. He recorded 42 tackles in total including 27 solo, 15 asst. and 12.5 tackles for loss.

Vitabile, was also named to the Outland watch list as well as the Rimington Award watch list, which honors the nation’s top center. Vitable started all 26 games the last two seasons and led the Wildcats’ No. 1 ranked offensive line in fewest sacks allowed.

The Rotary Club of Houston will a list of semifinalists on Nov. 7 and the finalists on Nov. 21. The Lombardi winner will be presented on Dec. 11 at the Wortham Center in Houston, Texas.

The Vince Lombardi Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-period in the month of July:

Mon., July 8: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tue., July 9: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
Wed., July 10: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
Thu., July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
Fri., July 12: Jim Thorpe Award
Mon., July 15: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award
Tue., July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Wed., July 17: Davey O’Brien Award
Thu., July 18: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 19: Walter Camp Award

For more Chicago sports conversation and updates follow us on Twitter @DaWindyCityFS and Like our Facebook page at Da Windy City.

Tags: Big Ten Brandon Vitabile NCAA Northwestern Tyler Scott Vince Lombardi Award

comments powered by Disqus