Oct 6, 2012; Madison, WI, USA; Illinnois Fighting Illini linebacker Jonathan Brown (45) during the first quarter against the Wisconsin Badgers at Camp Randall Stadium. Wisconsin won 31-14. Mandatory Credit: Brace Hemmelgarn-USA TODAY Sports

Illinois' Jonathan Brown named to Butkus watch list

Illinois senior linebacker Jonathan Brown has been named to the watch list for the annual Dick Butkus Award, it was announced Monday by the Dick Butkus Foundation.

The Butkus Award, named in honor of College and Pro Football Hall of fame linebacker Dick Butkus, began in 1985. Butkus played college football at Illinois from 1962 to 1964, receiving All-American honors in ’63 and ’64.

Brown was named a Butkus Award semifinalist and honorable mention All-Big Ten selection during his junior season for leading the Illini with 59 tackles, 9.5 tackles for loss and 2.5 sacks. Brown also missed the final three games with a shoulder injury and saw his playing time decreased prior to those games.

The announcement places Brown on a third preseason watch list this month, he is also named to the Nagurski Trophy and Bednarik Award watch lists.

The 2013 watch list includes 51, Butkus’ football number, linebackers from across multiple divisions of college football. The foundation will announce the semifinalists in October, with the finalists announced in late November. The collegiate award winner will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12.

The Dick Butkus Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-period in the month of July:

Mon., July 8: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tue., July 9: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
Wed., July 10: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
Thu., July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
Fri., July 12: Jim Thorpe Award
Mon., July 15: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award
Tue., July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Wed., July 17: Davey O’Brien Award
Thu., July 18: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 19: Walter Camp Award

For more Chicago sports conversation and updates follow us on Twitter @DaWindyCityFS and Like our Facebook page at Da Windy City.

Tags: Big Ten Dick Butkus Award Illinois Illinois Football Jonathan Brown NCAA

comments powered by Disqus