Sep 22, 2012; Evanston, IL, USA; South Dakota Coyotes quarterback Josh Vander Maten (16) is pressured by Northwestern Wildcats defensive lineman Tyler Scott (97) and defensive lineman Deonte Gibson (98) during the first quarter at Ryan Field. Mandatory Credit: Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

Northwestern's Tyler Scott selected to Nagurski Trophy watch list

Redshirt junior Tyler Scott, the returning honorable mention All-Big Ten selection and NU Defensive MVP, is among 81 defensive players from across the country named to the preseason watch list for the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, presented annually to the nation’s best Defensive Player of the Year by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America.

The Nagurski Trophy, named in honor of the legendary two-way player Bronko Nagurski from the University of Minnesota, began in 1995. Nagurski is a College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame charter member due to his dominance on the field with the Gophers and Chicago Bears during the 1930’s.

Scott started in all 13 games for the Wildcats last season at defensive end and recorded nine sacks (0.69 per game), ranking him second in the Big Ten. He recorded 42 tackles in total including 27 solo, 15 asst. and 12.5 tackles for loss.

The FWAA will choose a Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday during the season. The Charlotte Touchdown Club and FWAA will announce five finalists on Nov. 21 with the winner being announced on Dec. 9 at the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. The winner will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-period in the month of July:

Mon., July 8: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tue., July 9: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
Wed., July 10: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
Thu., July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
Fri., July 12: Jim Thorpe Award
Mon., July 15: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award
Tue., July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Wed., July 17: Davey O’Brien Award
Thu., July 18: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 19: Walter Camp Award

For more Chicago sports conversation and updates follow us on Twitter @DaWindyCityFS and Like our Facebook page at Da Windy City.

Tags: Big Ten Bronko Nagurski Trophy NCAA Northwestern Tyler Scott

comments powered by Disqus