Jun 28, 2013; Seattle, WA, USA; The Seattle Mariners celebrate after defeating the Chicago Cubs in the 10th inning at Safeco Field. Seattle defeated Chicago 5-4. Mandatory Credit: Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

Mariners Steal One From Cubs

The Mariners trailed 4-1 going into the bottom of the seventh and then promptly put up four runs over the next four innings, the last one coming in the tenth, to secure the game for the Mariners, 5-4.  Mike Zunino, the starting catcher for the Mariners for the night, came up with the bases loaded and singled into center to score Michael Saunders.

The Cub bullpen struggled to hold down the fort after starter Travis Wood left.  James Russell came into the game in the eighth inning and gave up two runs on three hits as he was unable to get through the inning.  Blake Parker took the loss for the Cubs, he exited when he got into a jam and Shawn Camp entered, but he was unable to get out of it.

Yoervis Medina got the win for the Mariners, the win gives him three on the year.  Seattle also got a good start from Hisashi Iwakuma, he threw eight innings, gave up six hits, and four earned runs.

Alfonso Soriano and Dioner Navarro both had two hits for the Cubs in their four trips a piece.  Ryan Sweeney, Navarro, and Soriano each drove in a run for the Cubs.

Nick Franklin, the second basemen of the future for the Mariners, had three hits on the night and also scored a run.  Kendrys Morales and Zunino each had two hits as well.  Jason Bay hit a big home run for the Mariners in the fifth that got them off and running.  Young shortstop Brad Miller made his major league debut for the Mariners and drove in a run.

These two teams will be back in action again on Saturday night.  Game time is scheduled for 6:10 CT.  The starters are going to be, Aaron Harang (3-7) for the Mariners and Jeff Samardzija (5-7) for the Cubs.

Tags: Aaron Harang Alfonso Soriano Blake Parker Brad Miller Chicago Cubs Dioner Navarro Hisashi Iwakuma James Russell Jason Bay Jeff Samardzija Kendrys Morales Michael Saunders Mike Zunino Nick Franklin Ryan Sweeney Seattle Mariners Shawn Camp Travis Wood Yoervis Medina

comments powered by Disqus