Jun 24, 2013; Boston, MA, USA; Chicago Blackhawks players and coaches pose for a photo with the Stanley Cup after game six of the 2013 Stanley Cup Final against the Boston Bruins at TD Garden. The Blackhawks won 3-2 to win the series four games to two. Mandatory Credit: Greg M. Cooper-USA TODAY Sports

Blackhawks win Stanley Cup

The Chicago Blackhawks storied 2013 season ended the way it started — on top of the league — hoisting the franchise’s fifth title after a 3-2 victory over the Boston Bruins on Monday night in Boston.

The Hawks became the first team in NHL history to begin the season with 24 games without a regulation loss and now is the first team in the salary cap era to win two Stanley Cups.

The championship is the second in last four years for Hawks’ stars Jonathan Toews, Patrick Kane, Patrick Sharp, Duncan Keith, Marian Hossa, and Brent Seabrook who won the Cup in 2010. These six Hawks stars concluded this season like they did in 2010 on the road in a stunning ending.

Less than 90 seconds remaining in regulation, the Hawks received goals from winger Bryan Bickell and Dave Bolland only 17 seconds apart to shocked the hockey world. Bolland’s late goal at 19:01 in the third is the latest Stanley Cup game-winner ever tallied in regulation time.

Chris Kelly and Milan Lucic scored the opening goals for the Bruins, with Lucic’s goal at 7:49 in the second frame giving the Bruins a 2-1 lead. The two Bruins goals went pass Hawks’ net-minder Corey Crawford would bounced back from giving up eight goals in the last three games and five in Game 4 with 24 saves Monday night.

Toews scored the opening goal for the Hawks in the second period at the 4:24 mark. Toews won a faceoff outside the Hawks defensive zone and skated into the Bruins’ zone before lanuching a slapshot pass Bruins’ goaltender Tuukka Rask. Bickell would score the game-tying goal with an extra-attacker off a one-timer with 1:16 to play before Bolland knocked in a Johnny Oduya rebound from the left post for the Cup clinching goal.

Lucic’s goal motivated the Hawks as they had several close opportunities to tie the game and even a Blackhawks power-play with less than four minutes to play. The attempts were fought off by a battle tested Bruins defense before Toews sent the puck to Bickell at the slot for a one-timer goal pass Rask’s five hole.

With 76 seconds remaining in Game 6 the Bruins looked to carry the game into the series fourth overtime but a determined Hawks group shocked the TD Garden crowd 17 seconds later.

Before Hawks’ captain received the Cup from NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman awarded Patrick Kane the Conn Smythe Trophy as the most valuable player of the playoffs. Kane recorded nine goals and 10 assists in the Hawks’ 23 games during the postseason.

Toews greeted Commissioner Bettman with a smile and phrase that will be played for the ages.

“Nice seeing you again,” Toews said.

Toews started off the Cup celebration skating around the TD Garden ice before handing off the Cup to veteran center Michal Handzus. The Hawks will journey back to Chicago early Tuesday morning and continue celebrating through the city. An announcement on the parade date is yet to be determined but will be announced by the City of Chicago before Tuesday afternoon.

For more Chicago sports conversation and updates follow us on Twitter @DaWindyCityFS and Like our Facebook page at Da Windy City.

Tags: 2013 NHL Stanley Cup Final Bryan Bickell Chicago Blackhawks Chris Kelly Dave Bolland Johnny Oduya Jonathan Toews Milan Lucic Patrick Kane

comments powered by Disqus