Oct 29, 2011; Chicago, IL, USA; Chicago Blackhawks goalie Corey Crawford (50) congratulates goalie Ray Emery (30) after the game against the Columbus Blue Jackets at the United Center. The Blackhawks won 5-2. Mandatory Credit: Tommy Giglio-USA TODAY Sports

Crawford, Emery win Jennings trophy

The NHL announced several awards on Friday afternoon including the William M. Jennings trophy to Blackhawks goaltenders Corey Crawford and Ray Emery. The award is annually awarded to the league’s goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it. Winners are based on regular-season play.

The other statistical-based trophy awarded were the Maurice Richard Trophy (most goals scored) to Alexander Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals and the Art Ross Trophy (most points) to the Tampa Bay Lighting‘s Martin St. Louis.

The Jennings Trophy was first awarded after the 1981-82 season to Montreal Canadiens Rick Wamsley and Denis Herron. Crawford and Emery become the first Hawks goaltenders to win the award since Ed Belfour in the 1994-95 season. Belfour also won the award in the Blackhawks 1990-91 Presidents’ trophy season and the 1992-93 season.

For more Chicago sports conversation and updates follow us on Twitter @DaWindyCityFS and Like our Facebook page at Da Windy City.

Tags: 2013 NHL Awards Chicago Blackhawks Corey Crawford NHL Ray Emery William M. Jennings Trophy

comments powered by Disqus